Anyone using Dropbox with MarsEdit?
  • Hi,

I'm new to both MarsEdit and Dropbox, but I'd love to find a way to keep MarsEdit in sync between my MacBook Pro and my Mac Pro.

I'd greatly appreciate anyone with experience with this setup chiming in!

Thanks.
  • Hi there - it's a little tricky to get Dropbox and MarsEdit to play nice together. The best writeup I think is still this one from Justin Blanton:

http://justinblanton.com/2008/07/marsedit-dropbox-sync

I hope to make changes to MarsEdit at some point to make it easier to sync with Dropbox.

Daniel
  • While I don't use Dropbox to sync MarsEdit drafts, reading the explanation just now seems backwards to me. On every other application whose files I sync via Dropbox (and that's several), I move the application's folder (or files) to be synced to my Dropbox folder from wherever the application put it, and replace the original with a symlink to the Dropbox folder or file. To do that, you quit Dropbox on create a symlink in the dropbox and move it to both machines. To create the Symbolic Link, I use Nick Zitzmann's SymbolicLinker, which is a contextual menu service. Select the file or folder, right click on it, choose (under more...) "Make Symbolic Link".
  • Thanks for both of your responses. I had seen that article that Daniel linked to in a cursory search of the forums here, and wasn't sure if the information was outdated or not.

I would definitely look forward to some sort of syncing solution, whether with Dropbox or some other service.

Thanks!
  • I'm with NovaScotian: the solution is much easier than JustinBlanton suggests. The key is to have the "master" copy on Dropbox, and link to that from each machine's ~/Library/MarsEdit directory; that way, each symlink is local to its machine. (Perhaps I've got the meaning of "to" and "from" reversed, but the instructions below are correct!)

It's easiest if you are willing to throw away all of the drafts on one of the machines. If not, see below.