Feature Request -- Support for acrosslite text format files
  • I'm surprised this isn't already there... How hard could it be to implement?

See here for the file format:
    http://www.litsoft.com/across/alite/man/AcrossTextFormat.pdf
  • Hmm - thanks turtlboy, I'm kind of new to this, so I have to admit I hadn't heard of the "text" format until you pointed to that document. It looks like the format is mostly intended for authors who are using Litsoft's software to generate AcrossLite binary files. Are you familiar with any sources of "text" format puzzles that Black Ink could be used with?

Daniel
  • I'm new, too. When I saw Blank Ink on the Linked List for Daring Fireball, I thought it looked interesting. I looked around to see if the syndicated crossword in my local paper is available in some kind of digital format. It is... sort of.

They basically want you to use their java applet, but the information is also available in a text format if you poke around. I wrote a quick Perl script to convert it to the Across Lite text format, and opened it in Black Ink, but no dice. It does work in Across Lite v2 for Mac, though.

Anyway, since my last post, I looked at the binary format for Across Lite files in a hex editor, and it seems pretty straightforward. I could probably just write something slightly more complex than my previous script to convert my files to the binary .puz format. The text format just makes things easier if a person wants to create or convert other crossword puzzles.
  • Wow, that's pretty adventurous hacking you did :) It sounds like it "wouldn't be a bad idea at all" if Black Ink were to support this text format. I will definitely put it on the list of things to look into for future updates. The binary format is pretty easy to decipher (for the most part!) as you discovered, but no doubt the text format must be easier.