some features I'd like to see
  • I've been using MarsEdit for several years now, and it seems to be the best offline blog editor out there. Congratulations.

However, there are some features that would make it work a lot better for me:

* special characters - I couldn't find any way to insert them. I LOVE the WordPress special characters bar so that I can add things like — (em dash) and non-english characters like ë (ë) without having to remember the HTML codes for them.

* wider full screen mode - I wish full screen was really that, but all I get is a narrow column taking up the full height and width. It's nice that everything else is hidden, but it still doesn't use the real estate available effectively

* customizable edit menu - It would be cool to be able to put the tags and codes that I use the most in the edit menu, so that I can access them quickly.

* better error messages - when I typo'd the xmlrpc location, I got a message saying that there was a 404. But not for what. I ended up on a Japanese site translated by my browser to tell me where to look for the problem. And when I input my self-hosted WordPress blog, it just said it couldn't auto determine the settings.

* but why couldn't it? - the xmlrpc.php in all my blogs is in the same place (the root directory). How hard would it be to make an educated guess about the file being in the root of my URL and the blog ID being 1, and then if those facts aren't true, THEN making me fill in the fields myself.

* an option to NOT store my passwords in the keychain - some of my blogs I don't want automatically grabbed, I just want to fill in the password every time - yes tedious, but much more secure, especially on a laptop that could easily be stolen.

* password protection on MarsEdit directly - this would also solve the above problem. If I could lock down the entire program behind a password, I wouldn't worry as much about the passwords in the keychain.