Log-in to Google Account loop
  • When I try to upload my post to my blog, the "Please Log In" window just continually asks me to enter my password, even though MarsEdit indicates that my post IS uploading. Is this normal? My blog is through blogger, which takes an inordinate time to do anything (one of the reasons I am trying MarsEdit) but I worry that it's not uploading.
    My apologies if this has been answered elsewhere, but I'm a newbie and couldn't find an answer in the first four pages of the MarsEdit forums.
  • Hi Helen - usually when "weird stuff" is happening with Google I think it has something to do with Google's own security anti-spam features causing mayhem. If you visit this URL and enter the code does it make any difference for subsequent connections from MarsEdit?

https://www.google.com/accounts/DisplayUnlockCaptcha?service=blogger
  • Hi Daniel, I have the same "Please log in" loop. Mine is a private Blogger account which I set up manually because the auto detect is not working. I can't log in.
  • Hi witzer - did you try visiting the same "captcha" link I suggested? If that doesn't help, please try grabbing the network log and sending it to me at support@red-sweater.com.

1. Open MarsEdit
    2. Select Window -> Network Log from the menu bar.
    3. Clear the log if it's not already empty.
    4. Try to refresh the blog again from MarsEdit.
    5. Copy the network log contents.

Thanks!
  • Hi Daniel, I was changing the settings around. I seemed to manage to log in now. But I'm getting "Can’t get recent posts for xxxxx because the server reported an error".

My settings is as follow:
    System name: blogger
    System API: Google Data Protocol 2.0
    API Endpoint URL: my private blog address
    Blog ID: my private blog ID

I hit refresh and the network log is as follow:

Network message sent: 2013-01-03 09:19:25 +0000
    URL: https://www.google.com/accounts/ClientLogin
    Method name: Google ClientLogin Authentication