Love MarsEdit - Newbie to AppleScript
  • Hi,

I've been using ME for several months now, previously I've bee using quickeys to automate some functions. But I'm looking at learning applescript to streamline things, make them faster, and let them run in the background.

Is there a document with all the Possible variables/fields in MarsEdit ?

I'm also looking for a good reference to get some actual basic Applescript knowledge.

My first task is to create a script that automatically fills out tags and puts some lines in the post.

Thank you
    -Sam
  • Daniel JalkutDaniel Jalkut
    Accepted Answer
    Hi Sam - unfortunately I don't have a comprehensive document for scripting MarsEdit. Mostly it's a trial and error process and poking around at the app's scripting dictionary from AppleScript Editor.

For a general AppleScript guidebook one of the classics is Matt Neuberg's book:

http://shop.oreilly.com/product/9780596102111.do

As for your immediate interest, this should get you started:

tell application \"MarsEdit\"
    activate

make new document
    set title of document 1 to \"My new post...\"
    set tags of document 1 to \"Tag1, Tag2, Tag3\"
    set body of document 1 to \"Hello there, this is my new blog post!\"
    end tell

(Sorry about the backslashes before the quotes - my forum software is adding those. You'll want to delete those in AppleScript editor).
  • Awesome Daniel,

Thanks for the link, example and super quick reply. I'll keep tinkering!

-Sam

PS - everytime I come to the forum is tells me I need to confirm my email address, which I've done at least twice.
    Accepted Answer
    Hi Sam - glad to help. Thanks for the note about the verified email address. I'll look into this!
  • Hey Daniel,

Is there an easy way to figure out what the variables for certain fields in MarsEdit are called?