App completely dogging it.
  • I'm a writer using MarsEdit nearly exclusively for my writing, including what I send to my blog. For the past couple of months, it's been completely dogging it in heavily formatted pages to my blog, to the point where I can't even use it and am searching for another alternative. However, nothing seems to suit my needs as well as MarsEdit. Yet it completely freezes up with the spinning ball several times in a document, and I have to wait several minutes each time for it to come back.

I've looked around in the Preferences, but can't find anything to solve this. Is there something like a cache that needs to be cleared out or something? I have a lot of files in Local Draft, because of all the writing I do outside of my blog. I just write them there and save them. Do I need to export them and save them somewhere else?
  • Hi there - I'm sorry to hear that the performance of MarsEdit has been suffering on your Mac. I don't think a large number of local drafts should cause a slowdown, but I could be wrong. The best first step is probably to see if you can "sample" MarsEdit while it's behaving really slowly (ideally when the spinning ball is visible).

Here are the steps to sample MarsEdit:

1. Reproduce the hang.
    2. Open Activity Monitor from /Applications/Utilities
    3. Find MarsEdit in the list and double-click it to open details.
    4. Click the "Sample" button in the lower left corner of the details window.

This will help me understand where the app is hanging up.

Thanks!
    Daniel
  • I will do that. Thanks!
  • I'm currently on the spinning ball. Here's what the Activity Monitor is saying:

Sampling process 16355 for 3 seconds with 1 millisecond of run time between samples
    Sampling completed, processing symbols...
    Analysis of sampling MarsEdit (pid 16355) every 1 millisecond
    Call graph:
    2505 Thread_231046 DispatchQueue_1: com.apple.main-thread (serial)
    2505 0x100001718
    2505 NSApplicationMain